Who We Are


Teresa Mangum, Professor in the Departments of Gender, Women’s, and Sexuality Studies and English and Director of the Obermann Center for Advanced Studies at the University of Iowa

Anne Valk, Professor in the Department of History and Director of the Center for Media and Learning/American Social History Project at the Graduate Center, CUNY

In collaboration with Meredith Stabel, Acquisitions Editor, University of Iowa Press

Advisory Board

  • Myrna Breitbart, Professor of Geography and Urban Studies, Hampshire College; founding member of the Holyoke Planning Network
  • Jan Cohen-Cruz, Director of Imagining America and Professor of Theatre, Syracuse University
  • Matthew Countryman, Director, Arts of Citizenship Program and Associate Professor of American History and Public History – University of Michigan
  • Gregory Jay, Founding Director, Cultures and Communities Program and Professor of English and American Studies – University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee,
  • Lisa Yun Lee, Director, School of Art and Art History, University of Illinois-Chicago
  • Ana Lopez, Associate Professor and Associate Provost of Communication; Director of the Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute, Latin American Studies, Film Studies – Tulane University
  • Esther Mackinstosh, President of the Humanities Councils of America
  • Tara McPherson, Digital Humanities, University of Southern California
  • Rachel Williams, Community-based Arts; Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies; Intermedia; Prison Arts Projects – University of Iowa
  • Kim Yasuda, Co-director, U.C. Institute for Research in the Arts, Spatial Studies, Public Arts Research, Administration, and Practice – University of California Santa Barbara

About the Obermann Center for Advanced Studies

About the University of Iowa Press

To read author bios, visit Books.